top of page
  • Writer's pictureIrina Cuc

RESEARCH - ARTIST AND MUSIC GENRE

After a thorough research and analysis into media products, I've made a clear idea of what their codes and conventions.


GENRE - TECHNO/HOUSE

I knew way before starting my project that I will be focusing on electronic music (techno and house mainly). Electronic music overall is very complex, there are so many sub-genres and so many talented artists to chose from, but I've always been more passionate about techno and house. With techno, its apparent simplicity fascinates me, because it actually has so many subtle complexities. Techno is a music style born from different combinations of house, electronic, synthpop, disco, house, jazz, and blues. The fusion between all of these genres and the additional futuristic sound effects give the music its unique characteristic.


ARTIST - Peggy Gou

Since even before starting the preliminary work, I had Peggy Gou in mind, her songs have always made me feel amazing, I think they are a work of art, her style is incredibly unique, something I haven't seen anywhere else, and the messages she communicates through her music hit close to home. She has always been an inspiration for me, I've been listening to her music for a few years now, so when deciding upon an artist to study, she was the obvious choice for me.


<< Peggy Gou is a South Korean DJ and record producer based in Germany. She has released seven EPs on record labels, including Ninja Tune and Phonica. In 2019, she launched her own independent record label, Gudu Records, and released a DJ-Kicks compilation, DJ-Kicks: Peggy Gou, on!k7 Records.>>


I also have a specific song in mind, Starry Night, for which I've already analysed the music video and digipak, in the previous post, and I already have some great ides for filming. The song was written by Peggy Gou, and produced by her own record label, Guru Records.


The song has a very interesting melodic line, with moments of silence in contrast with portions of very upbeat music, all of these are great opportunities for creativity when it comes to the footage.








4 views

Comments


bottom of page