top of page
  • Writer's pictureIrina Cuc

Q3-PRODUCTION SKILLS DEVELOPMENT

HOW DID YOUR PRODUCTION SKILLS DEVELOP THROUGHOUT THIS PROJECT?


Below you can see the answer in the form of an essay, that I later simplified into an infographic.

 

Before starting Flair Magazine, the preliminary work task was a great ice breaker for me as I got a glimpse of what goes into a photoshoot and development of a creative project like this, I also got used to writing on a blog and using Wix. I do believe that it was an essential step in the whole process as it’s a great introduction to this whole new thing. Then came the research which helped me understand the logic behind the creation of certain magazines and their conventions. It offered me a great amount of information I did not know beforehand that was the main factor that guided my team and me to choose the right genre and content/branding style, while it also really helped us when planning for our magazine and personal issues.


The most challenging part for me I believe was the documentation of the whole process. I've always had a hard time with expressing myself through words, that’s why I’ve always leaned towards expressing myself visually, however, through this project my ability and ease to do this has improved quite a lot.


Another skill I think was developed significantly through this project is my time management skills, as this was such a long term project, I had to efficiently organise myself to be on schedule with everything. I think this aspect also goes hand in hand with teamwork, as they both have to do with organizational skills. Since this was a team project, I had to learn how to communicate with my three teammates (Ana, Dan and Mara) that meaning I had to learn how to be open-minded to other peoples’ suggestions, tips or ideas, how to process feedback and constructive criticism, I can say I see a lot of progress with our team’s communication compared to the start of the year, our ability to solve problems along the way. Regarding myself as a team member, I can safely say that I am more self-aware of my duties and roles in the team than ever before.


As for Software and technology, I was already familiar with some aspects. I’ve used cameras before and I’ve had some shootings, but they were all for fun and nothing professional, so I can certainly say that I feel much more confident after my two professional shoots, as I got to experience a whole other world when having such a rigorously planned shoot with much more equipment (lighting equipment, props, camera, etc) than I was used to and with an overall much more professional environment. As for the Adobe Creative Apps, I’ve worked with them before, but I’ve never used them simultaneously for the same project in a professional manner. While practising in these complex programs, I’ve finally understood that there is a whole world of possibilities regarding everything from fonts, to colour palettes, to layouts, to shapes and sizes and much more. I’ve grown to understand the importance of typography and how significant all these aspects are within visual communication. I understood in a much better way how these programs are used professionally and got a glimpse into the graphic design world, which I hope one day will become my future career.


Lastly, my attention to detail and accuracy has perfected a lot, together with my ability to come up with new creative ideas and innovative designs, as I’ve learned how to tap into my creative resources and put my visual eye to work.

 

Below you can see the infographic that I made with the app Canva.



21 views

Comentarios


bottom of page