top of page
  • Writer's pictureIrina Cuc

PLANNING - EDITORIAL/ARTICLE

When reading a magazine, we, as readers either go through editorials of many kinds or articles, these are the two main types of content a magazine has. Through these channels, magazines can communicate to the readers their concept, vision, information etc. while some also advertise.


When planning for my editorial I decided it to be the feature editorial from my issue, meaning the title and topic would be the same as on the cover, "Revolutionary Minds". This is because most magazines that have a clear title on the cover, usually have an article or editorial dedicated to that.


INSPIRATION

For my inspiration I researched many magazines through various channels. The vibe I'm going for, for the editorial is the same as with the general magazine, more minimalist, impactful and in the end, revolutionary. All these pages are from different magazines I've read that have inspired me. I want to get inspired from the design, layout and many other elements present on these pages I've attached below.

Some are adverts, yet I just want to get inspired by the layout, composition and aesthetic.


CONTENT

As for the content, after some time of thinking I finally decided on the type of fashion editorial I want to create. I'd want it to spread along more pages, to allow me to really express my vision through big and clear images and writing.


Regarding the writing, I finally decided I want to base my editorial on an interview, I thought of asking the question "What does youth mean to you?" to someone and create a short article/text about this in correlation to the concept of a revolutionary minds, to really give the reader more insight from another young persons point of view.


After many drafts and time spent on this I finally came up with the final text for my first editorial of the magazine.


THE FINAL "ARTICLE"

In this first editorial: ‘Revolutionary minds’, Flair has decided to take a different approach into expressing the main idea of the magazine regarding what these terms mean, and how they are viewed.

Whereas once we would hold surveys persuading young people to share their experiences and ideas with us, we now decided to use a Flair member in order to structure an answer to one simple question: “What does youth mean to me?” - and this is what we got (as answered by our newest employee, giving her a voice and thus engaging in a new perspective).

“I believe everyone views the term ‘youth’ differently. Moreover, everyone associates it with an experience they’ve had, someone they know, or a factor of this sort. Youth connects to revolutionary minds in such a way that one does not need to be young in age to understand new perspectives and fresh approaches, but they need to be bright; and that is what I have seen so far ever since working here at Flair and getting to know the people I work with, while also considering aspects of my personal life and experiences. To be a revolutionary means to be humble and spread your wings into creating something greater than what was prior, to take risks and see beyond the usual, day-to-day conventions we grow up with and are handed in our basic education. To remain objective in critical situations. To think before you speak. To be yourself, brave, share your ideas and contribute to the ever-changing world we live in into making it a better place.”

Ema Johnson, as quoted above, has been a real inspiration to us all and to the general public for some weeks now, and her words will be echoing throughout this Flair Issue as it is all about this: NEW PERSPECTIVES

 

I've decided, as mentioned above to write an interview-like article that gives more insight into the way of thinking of young individuals. I've decided to hypothetically interview a new employee at Flair Magazine, and after that I created a whole persona that appears more throughout the magazine as a creator and contributor to the issue. Also, this part "Whereas once we would hold surveys persuading young people to share their experiences and ideas with us, we now decided to use a Flair member in order to structure an answer to one simple question" is hypothetical too, as we've never published any issues before so we haven't held any surveys, but this was something that made the article seem real, connected to the real world with real life examples. This along the whole persona I created is just to make the magazine more realistic as in reality this issue was created by only myself.



5 views

Comments


bottom of page